The Sunrise

Last Wednesday when my alarm went off at 7am to get ready for a teaching day, I noticed something different. Yesterday when my alarm went off at 7am to get ready for Expérience Glendon, I noticed the same thing.

The sun was out.

I tend to spend my winters in hibernation; staying in whenever I can, struggling to wake up in the mornings and struggling to find the motivation I need to get things done. Coincidentally, that’s the time of year when things really pile up.

However, I find that the strangest little things can give me the biggest wake-up calls. I still don’t know what the wake-up call was last year that caused me to become my healthiest self. But what did these early sunrises tell me? They told me it was time to pick up the habits I’d left behind and get my butt in gear. They told me it’s almost Spring, and that my final exams of my degree are right around the corner, followed by job interviews and the working world. They told me that right after Spring comes Summer, so now’s the time to stop making excuses for re-visiting unhealthy habits.

They say it takes three weeks to form a new habit. The truth of this statement could be argued, but regardless there’s no secret to sticking to a routine—you just have to do it. It’s not easy, but only a few days after this wake-up call I’m eating better, sleeping soundly and exercising almost daily, and I’m reaping the benefits all thanks to the sunrise.

What’s your sunrise?

It’s no secret that Instagram is pretty big motivator for me as well. Here are some of my favourite Instagram accounts on my following list that inspire me daily:
Oh She Glows, Andie Mitchell, Essena O’Neill, Nutrition Stripped, Kayla Itsines, Flourishing Health, Nutritionista Renée, The Cucumber Queen (a friend of mine!), Rachel Brathen (Yoga Girl), Kerri Verna (Beach Yoga Girl), Kino MacGregor (KinoYoga)

Leave a Reply

